Healthy Homemade Ice-Cream!

I force my family to eat healthy which means I am constantly looking for healthy treat and dessert recipes to satisfy our American appetites. Certain recipes do not need to be altered, but there are some that I have tried verbatim, discovering that adding or taking away or replacing ingredients altogether makes the dish much better. 

I have been making homemade ice-cream, “Jessie style“, for years. I blend one banana with 1/3 cup peanut butter and 1/2 cup almond milk. I put the slushy mixture in a freezer container and wait patiently. 

Recently my daughter discovered her favorite flavor…chocolate. It makes her very, very happy. I won’t like when I say that it makes me happy too. 

Needless to say, my ice-cream recipe needed some minor alterations. Since my daughter is lactose intolerant, I make her chocolate milk using Carnation Instant Breakfast packets. These packets are loaded with vitamins (I only use half of a packet for one drink) and are extremely tasty. 

I decided to try the same technique by adding a packet to my original ice-cream recipe. I blended it with all of the other ingredients and waited patiently with my daughter. The end result was delicious, but the chocolate powder made the ice-cream harder than the soft-serve we are used to. Nonetheless, we enjoyed it, start to finish.  

