Why Raising Children in the Country is Awesome

When I was a kid, I drank water out of the hose in my backyard. Did you? RaisingCountry

When I was a kid, I rode my bike for hours on a real search for anything awesome…mostly bugs. You?

When I was a kid, cable TV and video games were just starting to make an entrance into this world. I played outside though.

When I was a kid, I loved running, playing ball, fishing and any other activity that involved the fresh air and the hot sun.

When I grew up, I started to enjoy things like Facebook, Showtime and Netflix. I started to see the inside of my office and my home more than I saw the sunshine. I grew tired and uninterested in all the things that I loved as a child. However, when I gave birth to my first kid, I began to understand how important playing and using your imagination is for a healthy development.

I had to grow up to learn to become a kid again.

Living in suburbia America, going to work all day and having a full schedule allowed little to no room for me to raise my daughter with the same fun, outdoor activates I was raised to enjoy. It always seemed easier to put in a movie to entertain her while I did whatever chores I needed to get done.

I hated doing this. I felt like I was a cop-out mother.

When my family decided to move to the country and quit our old corporate lifestyle, my number one goal was to make sure my kids learned to enjoy all that nature has to offer and learn a great sense of responsibility.

Raising my children in the country has been awesome so far. Here are some reasons why:

1) We live remotely so cable and anything streaming is non-existent for us. Television time does not happen. Although, we do enjoy a movie from time to time, we make that a family activity and it always involves making popcorn together.

2) Our mornings start off with a whole host of chores. We all participate. Between feeding the chickens, ducks, dogs, cat, and fish, tending to the garden and orchard and cleaning the coops, my kids are learning responsibility, how to take care of animals and where food is actually grown. The children find it amazing that we can grow our own food rather than buy it from a store.

3) My kids own two battery operated toys. Most of their entertain comes from nature. They play outside in the sunshine whether it be hunting for bugs and feeding them to the chickens, swimming in the pool to cool down or swinging from the tree swing. No matter what, 90% of our days are spent outdoors.

4) My kids are pretty much fearless. With all that nature has to offer from poisonous plants to snakes to spiders to ticks, my kids have seen and dealt with it all. They understand what it means to be cautious and would never think twice about harming anything that is alive.

5) Socializing means having face to face time with other people, not chatting over the internet. My entire career has been spent online and I still enjoy this outlet, but all kids still need to learn how to interact with others, not just learn to type and view pictures. My kids are incredibly social people and love being with others. Plus, they have the best stories to share about their lives at our homestead.

I honestly kick myself for not making the change from city to country sooner. I see how amazing my daughter has grown to be with all the changes. My son has only known the country life. They are both awesome people and have amazing sense of responsibility and pride, a knowledge of nature that is mind-blowing and tender hearts that will melt yours.

Raising children in the country really is awesome.

2 Comments on “Why Raising Children in the Country is Awesome

  1. I grew up running wild on a farm, raising animals, collecting bugs and reptiles, building and crafting and cooking. I want all of that for my daughter, and I know that leading a “common” lifestyle and heeding common wisdom would not allow her the childhood she deserves, like mine. That’s a major part for our imminent move to a place that sounds a lot like you’ve made. It sounds amazing! I’m glad your kids get this experience– it will be a rare quality among those of their generation, I worry.

    • Kelly, I agree. It took us ten years to make the change, but we are so glad we did for our kids upbringing. I truly enjoy watching them blossom in a completely different way from their peers. Thank you for your comment. I appreciate your following.

      All the best,
      Jessie

Leave a comment...

